Jan. 14th, 2005

goodgothgirl: (Default)
See if you can follow my week:

Four days ago, I was ready to buy my house. Three days ago, I started making preparations to move out in two weeks. Now, I might not be moving out for another three months.

My head has exploded. Really.

On Wednesday, I talked turkey with the mortgage broker and found out that it would cost me $6,000 down and $900/month to buy my house. That's WAY out of my comfort zone. The same day, Landlord Chris sent me a new lease that he'd like to use -- my lease is up Feb. 15 -- and I found it to be too restrictive for subletting and house changes. (It banned installation of phone jacks and cable outlets without written permission, for god's sake.) I told him it would take too much tweaking to bother using it, and he said that he liked the restrictions. I told him that I didn't because he was going to be living in Florida and I didn't want to try to get him to send me a letter of consent if someone wanted a new cable outlet in their bedroom. Also, I can't afford to live in the house by myself, and no one had shown interest in moving in. So I said maybe we should put the house on the market immediately.

I started looking for new places immediately, which has sucked up all of my time in the last 48 hours. Chris doesn't want me to move out immediately, but has called a real estate agent who is looking at the house as I type.

In the meantime, I got an e-mail from someone who sounds like she'd be a great roommate. She's coming to Richmond to see the house Sunday. (She currently lives in VA Beach.) She was cool with a six-month lease, which Chris had originally asked me for so that the house would be occupied while being sold. Today, he asked if we could do three months.

Things are totally out of control!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm scheduled to see four houses in the next three days. One is around the corner from Jon's house (how's that for irony?), two are near Carytown and Byrd Park (an OK neighborhood, but not my fave) and one is about five minutes from work. The last one is the best of the lot, because it has three bedrooms, gas heat, central air and a 10-foot-square backyard that I'd have to maintain. I'd be paying all the utilities, but the rent is only $600. Oh, and it has a washer/dryer hookup. Again, it's not my favorite neighborhood but it's a good house at a great price.

Of course, I'll only need these options if I'm moving out in two weeks. And if I do, I'll have to borrow the security deposit from the Bank of Mom and Dad, which I hate doing. But it's not like I was planning on moving and screwed up my finances -- this is an out-of-the-blue emergency-type situation.

Wish me luck with everything. I'll be back once it's all settled.

*sigh*

Profile

goodgothgirl: (Default)
goodgothgirl

March 2007

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11 121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 27th, 2017 02:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios